The Embassy and Consulates | Kingdom of the Netherlands, Canada

Compulsory identification

On 1 January 2005, the Compulsory Identification (Extended Scope) Act came into force. Since that date, anyone aged 14 and over must be able to produce an original valid identity document and carry it with them at all times. Failure to produce an original, valid identity document is a criminal offence.

The following documents are accepted as proof of identity:

• National passport (also from the EU/EEA);
• Diplomatic passport (also from the EU/EEA);
• Service passport (also from the EU/EEA);
• Dutch refugee passport;
• Dutch travel document for aliens;
• Passports issued under certain circumstances to displaced Moluccans and second passport;
• Dutch identity card (formerly known as the European identity card);
• Driving licence (also from the EU/EEA);
• Residence documents and Leave to Remain Card.